Acne Treatment

+  + = SUCCESS!

Everybody has their own weird concoction of medications that work to improve certain types of acne. I’ve struggled with acne ever since the tender age of puberty, so I’ve tried everything and I mean EVERYTHING (don’t use ProActive! It BURNS). Luckily I’ve been blessed to now only have moderate cases (or so I’ve been told by my dermatologist), however I do feel that in recent months this combination of medications/dietary supplement has really worked the best for me. I’ve done enough benzyl peroxide treatments to constitute for a chemical peel, and it just plain painful. And irritating. And I’m convinced it causes facial bleaching.

So what I’ve learned in my acne treatment experiences is that slow and steady wins the race. The key to all regiments is to use minimal product only on affected areas. This can mean a pea sized amount to even a dime size amount. When you use excessive amounts of gels/creams it doesn’t work to make the process go any faster because there is only a certain set percentage of medication in every product.  Clindamycin works to stop the growth of bacteria on the face that causes infection when the pore is clogged with dirt, grease, oils, or whatever the hell our face puts up with on a daily basis. Adapalene acts like a retinoid, which basically means that it helps bring pimples up to the surface faster and therefore help with minimalizing scarring.

The magic ingrediant in this regiment is definately the Niacinimide or Vitamin B3 supplement. The key is to take 500mg a day, which usually means two capsules since each capsule has about 250 mg depending on the brand. It basically acts as an anti-inflammatory agent against irritated skin conditions, which often occur as a result of acne treatment. Now trust me when I say, DO NOT underestimate the importance of this step in your acne treatment because I have done so and have suffered the patchy, flakey, dryness as a result of my negligence. Think of it has something that minimizes the discomfort of using really irritating medications. It REALLY makes a difference.

So usually this is how my day to day works:

MORNING

1. Use a gentle cleanser.

 Neutrogena’s Fresh Foaming Cleanser is my favorite, hands down. It almost revitalizes the skin and gives you the really healthy glow. Super down.

2. Apply small dose of Clindomycin on only affected areas.

3. Moisturize using a non-comedogenic lotion.

4. Apply small dose of Adapalene on only affected areas.

5. Moisturize using a non-comedogenic sunscreen with at least SPF 15. (Important when using retinols)

6. Take 250 mg of Niacinamide.

Then repeat this whole process at night.

When you find that your skin is beginning to show signs of improvement, you can minimize this regiment to only once a day. Either in the morning or at night.

GOoD LuCk!

Leave a Reply

